Cinco de Mayo

Standard

No case of the Mondays here today! 😉

I read in an article from USA Today that said Cinco de Mayo has actually “become more of an American holiday than a Mexican one.”  I haven’t celebrated Cinco de Mayo in Mexico, but with the onslaught of Cinco de Mayo related pins that pinners (myself included) have pinned today, I’d say that’s a believable statement.

Today, I have a couple of quick and super-easy recipes to get your Cinco de Mayo celebration started.

Image

First–a confession… I haven’t always loved guacamole.  In fact, I used to be really, really grossed out by it. That’s probably because I had never had freshly made guacamole.

That all changed when some friends had guacamole made table-side at a restaurant in Oklahoma City.

The guacamole was so fresh and bright and it completely changed my hatred for guacamole into an obsession.  It also showed me just how simple and quick it is to make.

So, if you’re reading this and haven’t jumped on the guacamole bandwagon yet, I hope this recipe will inspire you to give it a try.

Ingredients:

2 fresh hass avocados

Fresh squeezed lime juice

2 tbsp red onion, finely diced

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/2 fresh jalapeno, finely diced (use more or less depending on how spicy you like it)

Salt to taste

Start by removing the pit from the avocado.  Then, scoop the avocado from the peel using a spoon. If you’ve never bought an avocado or cut one, here’s an easy tutorial from Epicurious.

Chop the avocado into large, course chunks.  Now, add remaining ingredients a little at a time, adjusting the guacamole’s flavor to your liking.

This is a super-simple recipe that is great for serving with white corn tortilla chips or slathered on a sandwich.  Trust me–you’ll love it.

If you’ve tried every guacamole out there and you just can’t get down with it–that’s okay, too.  Here’s my recipe for a fresh and delicious homemade salsa.

Ingredients:

2 medium vine-ripe tomatoes

1/2 can of stewed tomatoes, undrained

1/4 small onion, diced

1/2 jalapeno with seeds, finely diced

Fresh squeezed lime juice

Cilantro

Salt

Garlic Powder

Dash of Cumin

Start by cutting your tomatoes into quarters then place them into a blender or food processor.  Add the undrained stewed tomatoes.  Squeeze in the lime juice.  Add the remaining ingredients a little at a time, pulsing the blender or food processor in between each addition of ingredients.

The measurements here don’t have to be exact.  I always make this salsa by adding a little of each ingredient at first.  I taste the salsa and adjust how much more I add  depending on the flavor.

Serve with fresh tortilla chips or spoon some onto your favorite tacos.

This salsa is really delicious and is also perfect for canning.

I hope you enjoy both of these recipes!  Stay safe if you’re celebrating today!

Cheers!

 

2 thoughts on “Cinco de Mayo

Leave a Reply

